Drug Information Sources - A Comparative Chart

Printer friendly version (PDF 17KB) (DOC 78KB)

Find type of info in column at left; "x's" indicate available sources; move to top OR bottom of the x column to find title of resource; click on title for more info.

Information Needed
AHFS Drug
Information
CPS
Drug Facts
and
Comparisons
Martindale's
Extra
Pharmacopeia
Mosby's
GenRx
USP-DI
PDR
Handbook of Clinical
Drug Data
Physical/Chemical Properties
x
   
x
x
 
 x
 
Mechanisms of Action
x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
Pharmacokinetics
x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
Therapeutic Uses/Indications
x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
Off-label Uses
x
 
x
 
 
 x
 
  
Dose(s)/Dosing Information
x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
Precautions
x
  x
  x
  x
  x
  x
  x
  x
Drug Interactions
x
  x
  x
  x
  x
  x
  x
  x
Contraindications
x
 x
 x
 
 x
 x
 x
 x
Side/Adverse Effects
x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
Laboratory Value
x
     
 x
 x
 x
x
Monitoring
x
     
 x
 x
 x
 x
Toxicity/Overdose
x
 x
 x
 
 x
 x
 x
 
Patient Counseling    
 x
 
 x
 x
 x
 x
Availability (Canada)  
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 
 
Availability (outside N.A.)      
 x
 x
 
 
 
Storage
x
 x
 x
 
 x
 x
 x
 
Pregnancy/Lactation risk
x
 x
 x
 
 x
 x
 x
 x
Renal/Hepatic Dosage
Changes
x
 
 x
   
 x
 
 x
Commercially Available
Preps
x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 x
 
Product Recognition Section  
 x
   
 x
 x
 x
 
Therapeutic Classes
x
 x
 x
 x
   
 x
 x
Manufacturers Information  
 x
 x
 x
 x
 
 x
 
References      
 x
 x
 
 
 x
Information Needed
AHFS Drug
Information
CPS
Drug Facts
and
Comparisons
Martindale's
Extra
Pharmacopeia
Mosby's
GenRx
USP-DI
PDR
Handbook of Clinical
Drug Data

Find type of info in column at left; "x's" indicate available sources; move to top OR bottom of the x column to find title of resource; click on title for more info.

Compiled by staff of the R. O. Hurst Library, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto, 2001

Source Titles, Locations, and Call Numbers

AHFS Drug Information
Location: Gerstein Science Information Centre reference desk collection.
Call number: RS 151.2 .D78
Unbiased reviewed evaluative drug information. Drugs listed by therapeutic class. Includes all drugs available in the USA.
Available online through STAT!Ref.

CPS, Compendium of pharmaceuticals and specialties
The latest issue at the desk Gerstein Science Information Centre reference desk collection; 2nd latest is shelved with the main reference collection. Also at Pharmacy and Dentistry Libraries.
Call number: RS 141.23 .C62
Monographs are based on information received by the manufacturer and by Therapeutic Products Programme at Health Canada. Drugs are listed by registered trademark names. Not all manufacturer's products are listed.
E-CPS is available online

Drug Facts and Comparisons
Location: Gerstein Science Information Centre main reference collection has annual edition only; Pharmacy has loose-leaf version which is updated monthly.
Call number: RM 300 .D743
Unbiased comparative information on prescription and nonprescription products.
Drugs are listed by therapeutic class.

Handbook of Clinical Drug Data
Location: Pharmacy has latest edition; Gerstein has older editions
Call number: RM 300 .K55 1999
Drugs listed by therapeutic class. Quick reference containing comparison charts.

Martindale: the complete drug reference
Location: Gerstein Science Information Centre reference desk collection; also at Pharmacy Library.
Call number: RS 141.3 .M3 1999
Published every three years. Unbiased evaluated information on drugs, natural drugs and medicines. Drugs are listed by therapeutic class. Contains proprietary preparations from various countries throughout the world.

Mosby's GenRx
Location: Gerstein Science Information Centre reference desk collection; also at Pharmacy Library.
Call number: RS 141.2 .P583
Drugs listed by generic name. Mixture of manufacturer's package inserts, standard pharmacology texts and peer-reviewed medical journals. May include patient package inserts.
Available online through STAT!Ref.

USPDI: United States pharmacopeia dispensing information
Location: Gerstein Science Information Centre reference desk collection; also at Pharmacy Library.
Call number: RS 151.2 .U562
Arranged alphabetically by name or by therapeutic class. Not comprehensive.
Available online through STAT!Ref.

PDR, Physicians' desk reference
Location: Gerstein Science Information Centre reference desk collection; also at Pharmacy and Dentistry Libraries.
Call number: RS 75 .P52
Compilation of manufacturer's package inserts. Drugs arranged alphabetically by manufacturer. Not all products available are listed.

 

Gerstein Science Information Centre Home Page
Latest Update March 04, 2005 . Your comments and queries are welcomed. All contents copyright ©, University of Toronto Libraries, 2003.