Chemical information finder


9 King's College Circle Toronto  ON M5S 1A5     416.978.2280
   ask.gerstein@utoronto.ca    Site guide
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries  
 
Structures (Organic)


Beilstein QD 251 B4
Located in the Gerstein and Chemistry Reference Collection. 

Beilstein provides access to reactions and properties of organic compounds, although topic searches cannot be done. It is available online to the University of Toronto community at the Chemistry Library and Gerstein Science and Information Library.

* For information on electronic access see http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/beilstein.htm

*  For information on the users guide see
http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Steenbock/beilstein/quickguide.htm
 

Please note, remote access to Beilstein is only available with a UTORDIAL account. It is not available through a proxy account.

 


Chemical Abstracts QD 1 .C45
Located in the Gerstein, Engineering & Computer Science, and Chemistry Reference Collections. 

Chemical Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of the literature in over 50 languages. It is available in print and online to the University of Toronto community. Online access is from two sources:

1. Chemical Abstracts on networked CD-ROMS (1987-present)
- http://winframe.library.utoronto.ca/
- userís guide: http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/caug.htm
- Searches by formula follow the Hill Convention of C, H, and all other elements in alphabetical order.
- Requires download of Citrix ICA Client:
http://winframe.library.utoronto.ca/instruction.html

2. SciFinder Scholar (1947-present)
- Requires a client to be downloaded
- User guide & download instructions:
http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/
- Provides access to Medline
- Please note, remote access to SciFinder Scholar is only available with a UTORDIAL account. It is not available through a proxy account


Composite Index for CRC Handbooks QD 65 C74
Located in the Gerstein Information Desk Collection. 

The composite index provides access to information contained in the 317 handbooks published by the CRC Press. Searching the index for words or terms will lead you to the location of relevant information in one or more handbook volumes. (From preface).

 


CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics QD 65 H312
Located in the Gerstein Information Desk Collection and the Chemistry Reference Collection. 

In addition to being a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data, this edition has now added indexes to melting points and boiling points in the table of Physical Constants of Organic Compounds. It is also available online to the U of T community.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.

 


Merck Index RS 51 M4 1996
Located in the Gerstein Information Desk Collection and the Chemistry Reference Collection. 

This index contains over 10,000 monographs describing significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. It includes information on toxicity, molecular weight, a formula index, name index and named reaction index. (From preface).

 


SciFinder Scholar

A research tool for students and faculty to access the extensive Chemical Abstracts and CAS database. In addition to this, it also allows the user to draw chemical structures. SciFinder Scholar (1947-present).

- Requires a client to be downloaded
- User guide & download instructions:
http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/
- Provides access to Medline
- Please note, remote access to SciFinder Scholar is only available with a UTORDIAL account. It is not available through a proxy account.

 

 

back to Chemical information finder

back to top

 
 
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries    
  YYour comments & suggestions are invited. Latest Update March 03, 2004.
All contents © 2003 University of Toronto Libraries