Chemical information finder


9 King's College Circle Toronto  ON M5S 1A5     416.978.2280
   ask.gerstein@utoronto.ca    Site guide
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries  
 
Nomenclature (Inorganic)


Chemical Abstracts QD 1 .C45
Located in the Gerstein, Engineering & Computer Science, and Chemistry Reference Collections. 

Chemical Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of the literature in over 50 languages. It is available in print and online to the University of Toronto community. Online access is from two sources:

1. Chemical Abstracts on networked CD-ROMS (1987-present)
- http://winframe.library.utoronto.ca/
- userís guide: http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/caug.htm
- Searches by formula follow the Hill Convention of C, H, and all other elements in alphabetical order.
- Requires download of Citrix ICA Client:
http://winframe.library.utoronto.ca/instruction.html

2. SciFinder Scholar (1947-present)
- Requires a client to be downloaded
- User guide & download instructions:
http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/
- Provides access to Medline
- Please note, remote access to SciFinder Scholar is only available with a UTORDIAL account. It is not available through a proxy account


Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds QD 148 .D53 1992
Located in the Gerstein Reference Collection. 

Entries are in order by empirical formula according to the Hill Convention (ie. C, H and all other elements in alphabetical order). Provides similar information as the Dictionary of Organic Compounds.

 


A guide to IUPAC nomenclature of organic compounds: recommendations 1993, including revisions, QD 291 I57 1993
Located in the Gerstein and Chemistry Reference Collections. 

This is a guide to the IUPAC nomenclature of organic compounds based on the main principles of organic nomenclature as described in the 1979 edition of the IUPAC Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry. An effort has been made to systemize the names of organic compounds according to the IUPAC English style. (From introduction).

 


Principles of chemical nomenclature: a guide to IUPAC recommendations QD 7 L44
Located in the Gerstein and Chemical Book Collections. 

This book attempts to make IUPAC nomenclature accessible to students and teachers. It is intended to be a relatively complete version of IUPAC rules, allowing the beginner to learn about nomenclature. (From preface).

 


Nomenclature of organic chemistry QD 291 I57 1979
Located in the Gerstein and Chemical Book Collections. 

This is a collection, in a single volume, of the compendium of recommendations made by the IUPAC Commission during the period 1969 to 1978. It is intended to provide improved guidance to internationally agreed nomenclature for sections A, B, C, D, E, F and H.

 


Merck Index RS 51 M4 1996
Located in the Gerstein Information Desk Collection and the Chemistry Reference Collection. 

This index contains over 10,000 monographs describing significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. It includes information on toxicity, molecular weight, a formula index, name index and named reaction index. (From preface).

 


SciFinder Scholar

A research tool for students and faculty to access the extensive Chemical Abstracts and CAS database. In addition to this, it also allows the user to draw chemical structures. SciFinder Scholar (1947-present).

- Requires a client to be downloaded
- User guide & download instructions:
http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/
- Provides access to Medline
- Please note, remote access to SciFinder Scholar is only available with a UTORDIAL account. It is not available through a proxy account.

 

 

back to Chemical information finder

back to top

 
 
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries    
  Your comments & suggestions are invited. Latest Update March 03, 2004.
All contents © 2003 University of Toronto Libraries