Chemical information finder


9 King's College Circle Toronto  ON M5S 1A5     416.978.2280
   ask.gerstein@utoronto.ca    Site guide
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries  
 
Hazards/Toxicity


CHEMINFO Database
http://ccinfoweb.ccohs.ca/default.html

CHEMINFO is available online to the University of Toronto community. It provides comprehensive summarized health and safety information on chemicals. Each profile uses non-technical language to describe the potential hazards and control measures. The profiles provide an emergency overview, human health hazards, fire and explosion hazards, stability and reactivity hazards, handling and storage, exposure controls and protection, first aid and much more. Searches can be done by chemical name, CAS registry number, name fragments, chemical family, and/or appearance and odour. Records are in English (From ccinfoweb).




CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics QD 65 H312
Located in the Gerstein Information Desk Collection and the Chemistry Reference Collection. 

In addition to being a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data, this edition has now added indexes to melting points and boiling points in the table of Physical Constants of Organic Compounds. It is also available online to the U of T community: CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics .

 


Merck Index RS 51 M4 1996
Located in the Gerstein Information Desk Collection and the Chemistry Reference Collection. 

This index contains over 10,000 monographs describing significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. It includes information on toxicity, molecular weight, a formula index, name index and named reaction index. (From preface).

 


MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets)
http://ccinfoweb.ccohs.ca/default.html

The MSDS is available online to the University of Toronto community. Searches can be made through product name, product manufacturer and product supplier.




Dictionary of Organic Compounds QD 251 .D495 1996
Located in the Gerstein Reference Collection.

A multi-volume set intended for access to key data for chemists and non-chemists. Entries are by chemical name, which may or may not be the same as the one used in Chemical Abstracts. It provides the chemical name, synonyms, structural formula, hazards and toxicity and bibliographic references. Includes a Name Index, Molecular Formula Index and CAS Registry Number Index. (From preface).




Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds QD 411 D53
Located in the Gerstein and Chemistry Reference Collections.

Provides the same type of information as the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, for organometallic compounds.




Concise Encyclopedia of Chemistry QD 4 A2313
Located in the Gerstein Reference Collections
(Also available in the OISE/UT Reference Collection 540.3 C744).

This work offers an overall view of chemistry, offering over 12,000 entries from the fields of general, inorganic, organic, physical and technical chemistry, which is supported by 1,600 figures and 300 tables. It uses internationally valid nomenclature and informs the user of the IUPAC regulation for the naming of chemical elements and compounds. Included are chemical elements, their reactions and compounds, important natural substances, synthetics, pharmaceuticals, dyes, complex atomic and molecular structure of matter, stoichiometry, analysis, catalysis, chemical kinetic reactions, thermodynamics and much more. Hazards of particular substances are highlighted in boxes. (From preface).




CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety QD 51 S88 2000
Located in the Gerstein Book Collection.

Includes information on laboratory regulations and safety operations in chemical and non-chemical laboratories.




Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances (RTECS)
http://ccinfoweb.ccohs.ca/default.html

RTECS is available to the University of Toronto community. It provides toxicological information on over 140,000 chemicals.



 

back to Chemical information finder

back to top

 
 
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries    
  Your comments & suggestions are invited. Latest Update March 03, 2004.
All contents © 2003 University of Toronto Libraries