Chemical information finder


9 King's College Circle Toronto  ON M5S 1A5     416.978.2280
   ask.gerstein@utoronto.ca    Site guide
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries  
 
Formula Index (Organic)


Chemical Abstracts QD 1 .C45
Located in the Gerstein, Engineering & Computer Science, and Chemistry Reference Collections. 

Chemical Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of the literature in over 50 languages. It is available in print and online to the University of Toronto community. Online access is from two sources:

1. Chemical Abstracts on networked CD-ROMS (1987-present)
- http://winframe.library.utoronto.ca/
- userís guide: http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/caug.htm
- Searches by formula follow the Hill Convention of C, H, and all other elements in alphabetical order.
- Requires download of Citrix ICA Client:
http://winframe.library.utoronto.ca/instruction.html

2. SciFinder Scholar (1947-present)
- Requires a client to be downloaded
- User guide & download instructions:
http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/
- Provides access to Medline
- Please note, remote access to SciFinder Scholar is only available with a UTORDIAL account. It is not available through a proxy account


Merck Index RS 51 M4 1996
Located in the Gerstein Information Desk Collection and the Chemistry Reference Collection. 

This index contains over 10,000 monographs describing significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. It includes information on toxicity, molecular weight, a formula index, name index and named reaction index. (From preface).

 


Dictionary of Organic Compounds QD 251 .D495 1996
Located in the Gerstein Reference Collection. 

A multi-volume set intended for access to key data for chemists and non-chemists. Entries are by chemical name, which may or may not be the same as the one used in Chemical Abstracts. It provides the chemical name, synonyms, structural formula, hazards and toxicity and bibliographic references. Includes a Name Index, Molecular Formula Index and CAS Registry Number Index. (From preface).

 


Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds QD 411 D53
Located in the Gerstein and Chemistry Reference Collections. 

Provides the same type of information as the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, for organometallic compounds. It is intended to be a companion to Dictionary of Organic Compounds.

 


SciFinder Scholar

A research tool for students and faculty to access the extensive Chemical Abstracts and CAS database. In addition to this, it also allows the user to draw chemical structures. SciFinder Scholar (1947-present).

- Requires a client to be downloaded
- User guide & download instructions:
http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/facilities/chemlib/
- Provides access to Medline
- Please note, remote access to SciFinder Scholar is only available with a UTORDIAL account. It is not available through a proxy account.

 

 

back to Chemical information finder

back to top

 
 
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries    
  Your comments & suggestions are invited. Latest Update March 03, 2004.
All contents © 2003 University of Toronto Libraries