Chemical information finder


9 King's College Circle Toronto  ON M5S 1A5     416.978.2280
   ask.gerstein@utoronto.ca    Site guide
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries  
 
Dictionaries


Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology Q 123 A 33
Located in the Gerstein Reference Collection. 

This dictionary includes terms that are likely to be encountered by the informed general reader. This book contains 133,000 words and has the largest and most current scientific vocabulary available. (From preface).

 


Compendium of Chemical Terminology QD 5 C48
Located in the Gerstein Reference Collection. 

This book in one in a series of IUPAC publications on chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units. (From preface).

 


Dictionary of Organic Compounds QD 251 .D495 1996 Vol.1-10
Located in the Gerstein Reference Collection. 

A multi-volume set intended for access to key data for chemists and non-chemists. Entries are by chemical name, which may or may not be the same as the one used in Chemical Abstracts. It provides the chemical name, synonyms, structural formula, hazards and toxicity and bibliographic references. Includes a Name Index, Molecular Formula Index and CAS Registry Number Index. (From preface).

 


Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds QD 411 D53
Located in the Gerstein and Chemistry Reference Collection. 

Provides the same type of information as the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, for organometallic compounds. It is intended to be a companion to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds.

 


Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds QD 148 .D53 1992
Located in the Gerstein Reference Collection. 

Entries are in order by empirical formula according to the Hill Convention (ie. C, H and all other elements in alphabetical order). Provides similar information as the Dictionary of Organic Compounds.

 


Hawley’s Condensed Chemical Dictionary QD 5 C5
Located in the Gerstein and Chemistry Reference Collections. 

This is a compendium of technical data and information about thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena. It is organized as a quick reference for those who “have only minutes to devote to any given topic”. (From preface).

 

 

back to Chemical information finder

back to top

 
 
Gerstein home   Hours   Catalogue   e-Journals   MEDLINE   U of T Libraries    
  Your comments & suggestions are invited. Latest Update March 03, 2004.
All contents © 2003 University of Toronto Libraries