G8+ Draft Action Plan on Transatlantic Drug Trafficking

Ministerial G8+ Meeting on Drug Trafficking
May 10, 2011, Paris
Draft published in the Press Dossier
[Français]

In line with the Political Declaration, we, Ministers responsible for the fight against illicit drug trafficking, European Union Commissioner in charge of internal affairs and the leaders of international and regional organizations have gathered in Paris to adopt an Action Plan aimed at strengthening transatlantic cooperation in the fight against drug trafficking, in particular the trafficking of cocaine. This Action Plan is fully in keeping with the approach of the United Nations, which advocates common and shared responsibility, based on the simultaneous reduction of supply and demand.

We have, therefore, decided to take joint action, on a voluntary basis, in the following areas:

I – Universalization and implementation of international conventions

We recognize that the three international drug conventions – the Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs of 1961 as amended by the 1972 Protocol, the Convention on Psychotropic Substances and the United Nations Convention against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances – remain the cornerstone of the international drug control system, and call for their effective implementation.

As the three conventions on drugs are universal, we must now seek to strengthen the effectiveness of the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime (Palermo Convention), its three complementary protocols and the United Nations Convention against Corruption.

We will continue efforts to implement them, especially in regions affected by the drug problem, in particular transatlantic cocaine trafficking.

We will continue with the work of the Conferences of the States Parties in this regard.

We support the implementation of regional and sub-regional conventions related to the drugs issue, the fight against transnational organized crime and corruption.

II – Improving the collection and sharing of intelligence

Improving the exchange of intelligence is an important precondition for increasing the effectiveness of the fight against drug trafficking. The regional centers of information exchange – established in West Africa, in Accra (Ghana) and Dakar (Senegal) – the operational centers that coordinate and facilitate maritime interdictions (MAOC-N, CeCLAD-M and JIATF-S), and the existing information networks enable us to strengthen cooperation on the Atlantic front. These operational centers and information networks should be linked up between interested countries and supplemented so as to cover all trafficking routes.

Therefore it could be considered to extend the benefit of these centers with regard to information exchange to more countries, so as to cover all trafficking routes. The operational centers and information networks should also be closely coordinated.

We encourage networks of liaison officers to work as closely as possible with the local authorities, on a voluntary basis and in a spirit of mutual trust.

We support the enlargement of these systems whenever possible and where applicable, notably by the creation of additional centers and / or information networks in other regions of the world.

We should reinforce these centers in order to ensure better synergy in terms of exchanging and processing intelligence, in due consideration of the existing data protection statutory provisions.

We should strengthen these centers in order to ensure a better synergy in the field of information analysis and exchange, in accordance with the respective data protection laws and regulations of the parties. We support the creation of local structures enabling the collection of intelligence at a national level, as well as the sharing of strategic intelligence at regional level, through the regional cooperation organizations (OAS, UNASUR, SICA, CARICOM, ECOWAS, Europol, Ameripol…) and at international level notably through the AIRCOP project (UNODC -WCO -INTERPOL), in accordance with the respective data protection laws and regulations of the States. Specific ways of putting these recommendations into practice should be examined through relevant fora, such as the EU-US Transatlantic Symposium on Dismantling Transnational Illicit Networks to be held in Lisbon on 17–19 May. These proposals should also be brought to the attention of the Ministerial Conference of African countries bordering the Atlantic and other regional or bi-regional mechanisms.

III – Intensifying maritime cooperation

Article 17 of the United Nations Convention against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances, adopted in 1988, has proven to be one of the most useful tools, in an operational sense, in the fight against illicit drug trafficking by sea.

We welcome the availability 24 hours a day, seven days a week access through UNODC website to a network of national competent authorities, tasked with monitoring the implementation of Article 17 of the 1988 Convention. We encourage States participating in this network to update data provided to the UNODC. We invite the UNODC to cooperate closely with the INTERPOL Coordination and Command Center in this regard. We commit to strengthening the responsiveness of these operational systems.

We commit to examining our procedures for maritime interdictions, in accordance with national laws, with a view to improving the effectiveness of our investigations, prosecutions and asset forfeitures. We undertake to address the legal challenges that adversely impact on successful investigations and prosecutions regarding drug interdictions in international waters. To this end:

States are encouraged to consider concluding bilateral or regional agreements, or acceding to existing regional agreements, to enhance operational cooperation and coordination in detecting, monitoring, interdicting and apprehending in the framework of Article 17 of the Convention vessels involved in drug smuggling.

States are encouraged to consider concluding bilateral or regional agreements including agreements that facilitate the prosecution of suspects engaged in illicit trafficking including, where necessary, in coastal States – following maritime interdictions in international waters.

The results of the project undertaken within the framework of the G8 Roma-Lyon Group on “Law enforcement and prosecution of drug trafficking on the high seas” should be taken note of and disseminated widely.

Regional organizations and their Member States are encouraged to evaluate the feasibility of regional conventions or other agreements and arrangements to complement the efforts made by each State, with regard to above mentioned actions.

Our States commit to seeking and implementing the necessary resources to further support operational cooperation in international waters and in maritime transit zones, to fight drug trafficking, in particular cocaine trafficking.

IV – Improving international cooperation legal mechanisms to target and confiscate criminal assets

The capacity of criminal organizations to do harm is mainly due to their financial power gained from their criminal activities.

In order to provide a resolute response to this threat, we have decided to strengthen our cooperation as stated below:

Based on the already existing evaluation of the different legal systems with regard to the identification, freezing, seizure and confiscation of criminal assets and in order to identify procedures that are legally compatible, including those conducted by the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and analogous regional bodies, we will seek to identify ways in which international cooperation can be enhanced.

We encourage States to join – and undertake to facilitate their adhesion to – the Camden Asset Recovery Inter-Agency Network (CARIN) – the international network for the identification, freezing, seizure and confiscation of assets either gained through money from criminal activities or that are part of the property of criminals – and to participate in other relevant networks such as the

StAR/INTERPOL Focal Point Initiative, the informal global network of asset recovery expert practitioners, in order to strengthen the effectiveness of international cooperation in this area.

We support countries in the creation of authorities for the identification and confiscation of criminal assets, where such structures do not exist, and according to national legislation.

We strongly encourage States to create points of contact dedicated to the fight against money laundering thus enabling us to target the entirety of criminal organizations’ financial interests.

We encourage States to join the Egmont Group and undertake to facilitate their adhesion to it. The goal of the Egmont Group is to provide a forum for Financial Intelligence Units around the world to improve cooperation in the fight against money laundering.

We engage to strengthen our cooperation in initiatives targeting criminal assets which benefit from tax haven banking systems.

We commit to providing the relevant services with the required expertise and appropriate tools to effectively conduct financial investigations to dismantle transnational networks, to improve efficiency in the fight against money laundering, to identify corruption networks and proceeds of crime.

We commit to strengthening cooperation with the relevant international organizations in this area, including the World Bank, the UNODC, INTERPOL, the WCO and the FATF.

Ways to identify methods to guarantee an effective confiscation of proceeds of crime should be examined in relevant fora, such as the EU-US Transatlantic Symposium on Dismantling Transnational Illicit Networks in Lisbon and other regional or bi-regional mechanisms.

V – Addressing the long-term destabilizing effects of drug trafficking

The fight against drug trafficking, in particular cocaine, must also take into account the long-term effects that contribute to undermining the rule of law and good governance, posing a serious threat to the safety and well-being of mankind, weakening State institutions, in particular law enforcement and judicial systems, notably by the corruption and destabilization of economies resulting from illicit drug trafficking. We support the identification and dissemination of best practices and efficient strategies to curb the violence associated with illicit drug trafficking and root out corruption.

We encourage the competent organizations, including the UNODC, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), Interpol and the World Bank to analyze, in accordance with their Member States, the mechanisms conducive to the contamination of economies by illicit income derived from crime.

We reaffirm that contamination of economies can be fought, above all, by strengthening the rule of law and by promoting good governance.

We encourage the competent organizations, including the UNODC, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), Interpol and the World Bank to analyze, in accordance with their Member States, the mechanisms conducive to the contamination of economies by illicit income derived from crime.

We reaffirm that contamination of economies can be fought, above all, by strengthening the rule of law and by promoting good governance.

VI – Strengthening the capacity of States

The fight against drug trafficking and the commitments in this Action Plan require the strengthening of the capacity of States. This should be part of the framework of comprehensive and integrated policies aimed at combating the world drug problem. To that end:

We recommend that the needs of each State be better identified in order to optimize the operations of the donor community, notably through regular and sustained field cooperation among stakeholders, as well as the mainstreaming of a tool for sharing technical assistance information.

We encourage the regional police training centers, existing or in project, to give special attention to programs dedicated to the fight against illicit drug trafficking.

We support capacity reinforcement of States for the entire judicial and penal process, across all the operational services involved – inter alia in the fight against illicit drug trafficking, trafficking of explosives, small weapons, ammunitions and diversion of chemical precursors.

We will ensure that these actions fit in general policies to strengthen the rule of law, and to achieve maximum coordination with civil society. We will promote integrated policies to reduce demand and supply, which include support to reduction of illicit crops and promote policies for integral and sustainable alternative development in producing countries, as well as the setting up of alternative sanctions to detention and encouraging social reintegration. We support dissemination of best practices in the field of demand reduction, where appropriate, and we encourage policies of prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of former users in society. We reaffirm our commitment to attain significant and measurable results in the area of drug demand reduction through a balanced and comprehensive approach.

We urge the States and organizations involved in technical assistance programs to improve their coordination of actions, in particular by promoting the dissemination of information, best practices and lessons learned related to the programs implemented.

We encourage States to further effective collaboration with regional organizations represented by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the African Union (AU), the Organization of American States (OAS/CICAD), CARICOM, as well as other relevant regional and sub-regional organizations such as the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the South American Union of Nations (UNASUR) BR and competent authorities.

VII – Financing the fight against drug trafficking

Considering the scale of the challenge, the fight against drug trafficking, in particular cocaine, as part of the efforts to address the world drug problem, will require major financing. In addition to the commitments already made by the States involved, efforts have also been made by multilateral bodies, by the European Union and other major stakeholders and we would like to stress their essential role.

We request multilateral and regional bodies in the area of development financing, the European Union and other major stakeholders, to continue their initiatives concerning capacity-building programs, especially with regard to the long-term aspects.

We encourage States to consider, where applicable and in accordance with national law, using the proceeds of seizure, confiscation and other similar measures of criminal assets generated by drug trafficking to improve the fight against drugs, as much as possible and with full respect for the budgetary capacity of each country.

We reaffirm our commitment, where applicable and in accordance with national law, to provide financial support, on a voluntary basis to relevant multilateral and regional organizations, including the UNODC, and regional initiatives, for efforts aimed at stemming the flows of illicit drugs.

We encourage the UNODC to explore with relevant international financial institutions the possibility of establishing new and innovative approaches to financing the fight against drug trafficking.

Each action detailed in this plan may be implemented on a voluntary basis by our countries. The scope of this Action Plan can also be extended, when the need or the possibility to do so appears, to other regions or other illicit drugs, with the approval of all the countries participating in this initiative.

We invite countries of our respective regions to join us in the actions to be taken under this initiative. To this end, we request our respective regional organizations to inform all countries in our regions about the outcomes of this meeting.

top

Projet de Plan d'action G8+ Drogue

Conférence ministérielle G8+ Drogue
10 mai 2011, Paris
Version publiée dans le Dossier de presse
[English]

Dans le prolongement de la Déclaration politique, nous, Ministres en charge de la lutte contre le trafic illicite de drogue, Commissaire en charge des affaires intérieures représentant l’Union européenne et responsables d’organisation internationales et régionales, réunis à Paris, adoptons un Plan d’action visant à renforcer la coopération transatlantique dans la lutte contre le trafic de drogue, en particulier celui de la cocaïne. Ce plan d’action s'inscrit pleinement dans l’approche des Nations Unies qui préconise une responsabilité commune et partagée reposant sur une réduction simultanée de l'offre et de la demande.

Nous décidons donc d’agir de façon concertée et sur une base volontaire, dans les domaines suivants:

[retour en haut]

I – Universalisation et mise en œuvre des conventions internationales

Nous reconnaissons que les trois conventions internationales sur la drogue (la Convention unique sur les stupéfiants de 1961 telle qu’amendée par le Protocole de 1972, la Convention sur les substances psychotropes et la Convention des Nations Unies contre le trafic illicite de stupéfiants et de substances psychotropes) demeurent la clé de voûte du système international de contrôle des drogues, et nous appelons à leur mise en œuvre effective.

Si les trois conventions internationales sur le contrôle des stupéfiants sont universelles, nous devons maintenant chercher à renforcer la mise en œuvre des Conventions des nations unies contre la Criminalité Transnationale Organisée, de ses trois protocoles additionnels et de la Convention des Nations unies contre la corruption.

Nous poursuivrons le travail en vue de leur mise en œuvre, notamment dans les régions touchées par le problème des drogues, en particulier par le trafic transatlantique de cocaïne.

Nous prolongerons le travail accompli lors des dernières conférences des États parties pour parvenir à leur mise en œuvre effective.

Nous soutenons la mise en œuvre des conventions régionales et sous-régionales relatives au problème de la drogue, à la lutte contre la criminalité transnationale organisée et à la corruption.

[retour en haut]

II – Améliorer la collecte et la mutualisation du renseignement

L’amélioration de l’échange du renseignement est une condition majeure pour accroître l’efficacité de la lutte contre le trafic de drogue. Ces centres régionaux d'échange d'informations, établis en Afrique de l'Ouest, à Accra (Ghana) et à Dakar (Sénégal), ces plateformes opérationnelles qui coordonnent et facilitent les interceptions maritimes (MAOC-N, Ceclad-M, JIATF-S) ainsi que les réseaux d’informations existants, nous permettent de renforcer la coopération sur la façade atlantique. Ces centres opérationnels et réseaux d’informations doivent être reliés entre les pays qui sont intéressés, et complétés de manière à couvrir l’ensemble des routes du trafic.

Il pourrait donc être envisagé d’étendre les bénéfices de ces centres en termes d’échange de renseignement à un plus grand nombre de pays de manière à couvrir toutes les routes du trafic. Par ailleurs, ces centres opérationnels et réseaux d’informations devraient travailler en étroite coordination.

Nous encourageons les réseaux d’officiers de liaison à travailler le plus étroitement possible avec les autorités locales, sur la base du volontariat et de la confiance mutuelle.

Nous soutenons l’extension de tels dispositifs quand cela est possible et là où cela est applicable, notamment par la création de centres et/ou réseaux d’information complémentaires dans d’autres régions du monde.

Nous devons renforcer ces centres de manière à assurer une meilleure synergie en matière d’échange et de traitement de l’information, en prenant dûment en compte les dispositions existantes en matière de protection des données.

Nous soutenons la création de structures locales permettant la collecte du renseignement au niveau national, ainsi que la mutualisation du renseignement stratégique au niveau régional, par le biais des organisations de coopération régionales (OEA, UNASUR, SICA, CARICOM, CEDEAO, Europol, Ameripol …) et au niveau international, notamment à travers le projet AIRCOP (ONUDC -OMD – INTERPOL) en conformité avec les dispositions nationales en matière de protection des données et les réglementations des Etats.

Les moyens spécifiques pour mettre en œuvre concrètement ces recommandations pourront être étudiés, dans des enceintes pertinentes comme le Symposium transatlantique sur le démantèlement des réseaux illicites transnationaux que l’Union européenne et les États-Unis organiseront à Lisbonne du 17 au 19 mai prochain. Ces propositions pourraient être également portées à la connaissance de la Conférence ministérielle des pays africains riverains de l’Atlantique ainsi qu’à celle d’autres mécanismes régionaux ou bi-régionaux.

[retour en haut]

III – Intensifier la coopération maritime

L’article 17 de la Convention de Vienne contre le trafic illicite de stupéfiants et de substances psychotropes adoptée en 1988 s’est révélé être l’un des outils les plus utiles sur le plan opérationnel, dans la lutte contre le trafic illicite de drogue par voie de mer.

Nous nous félicitons de la disponibilité d’un réseau d’autorités nationales compétentes chargées de veiller à la mise en œuvre de l’article 17 de la Convention de 1988, accessible 24h /24 et 7 jours / 7, via le site internet de l’ONUDC. Nous encourageons les Etats participants à ce réseau, à actualiser les données transmises à l’ONUDC. A cet égard, nous invitons l’ONUDC à travailler étroitement avec le Centre de Commandement et de Coordination d’Interpol. Nous nous engageons à renforcer la réactivité de ces dispositifs opérationnels.

Nous nous engageons à examiner nos procédures en matière d’interceptions maritimes, conformément à nos législations nationales, afin d’améliorer l’efficacité de nos enquêtes, procédures judiciaires et confiscations d’avoirs. Nous examinons les moyens nécessaires pour résoudre les difficultés juridiques liées aux interceptions de drogue dans les eaux internationales, qui pèsent sur les résultats des enquêtes et des procédures judiciaires. A cette fin :

Nous encourageons les États à envisager de conclure des accords bilatéraux ou régionaux ou encore d’accéder à des accords régionaux existant afin d’améliorer la coopération opérationnelle et la coordination en matière de détection, de contrôle, d’interception et d’arraisonnement des navires impliqués dans le trafic de drogue conformément à l’article 17 de la Convention.

Nous encourageons les États à envisager de conclure des accords bilatéraux ou régionaux, notamment des accords qui facilitent la poursuite de suspects impliqués dans un trafic illicite, y compris si nécessaire dans les États côtiers, à la suite d’interceptions maritimes, dans les eaux internationales.

Les résultats du projet relatif au «Trafic de drogue en mer », dans le cadre du Groupe Lyon-Rome du G8, devraient être examinés et largement diffusés.

Les organisations régionales et leurs Etats-membres sont encouragés à évaluer la faisabilité de conventions régionales ou d’autres accords et arrangements en complément des efforts menés par chaque État en ce qui concerne les actions mentionnées ci-dessus.

Nos États s'engagent à rechercher et à mettre en œuvre les moyens nécessaires pour approfondir la coopération opérationnelle dans les eaux internationales et dans les zones maritimes de transit, pour lutter contre le trafic de drogue, en particulier celui de la cocaïne

[retour en haut]

IV – Améliorer les procédures juridiques de coopération internationale visant à identifier et confisquer les avoirs criminels

La puissance financière acquise par les organisations criminelles est le principal facteur de la capacité de nuisance de la criminalité organisée.

Afin d’apporter une réponse déterminée à cette menace, nous décidons de renforcer notre coopération concernant les points suivants :

Sur la base de l’évaluation des différents systèmes juridiques existants en matière d’identification, de gel, de saisie et de confiscation des avoirs criminels, et afin de dégager des procédures qui soient juridiquement compatibles, notamment de celles menées par le Groupe d’action financière (GAFI) et des organismes régionaux analogues, nous chercherons à identifier des moyens d’améliorer la coopération internationale.

Nous encourageons les États à adhérer – et nous nous engageons à faciliter leur adhésion -au réseau CARIN (Camden Asset Recovery Interagency Network, réseau international d’identification, de gel, de saisie et de confiscation des biens acquis avec des fonds provenant d'activités criminelles ou constituant le patrimoine des délinquants) et à participer à d’autres réseaux pertinents tels que l’Initiative StAR/Interpol de points de contact, le réseau informel mondial des experts praticiens de la récupération d’avoirs afin de renforcer l’efficacité de la coopération internationale en la matière ;

Nous soutenons la création d’autorités d’identification et de confiscation des avoirs criminels dans les pays ne disposant pas de telles structures, conformément à leurs législations nationales.

Nous encourageons vivement les États à créer des points de contact dédiés à la lutte contre le blanchiment, permettant ainsi de frapper l’ensemble des intérêts financiers des organisations criminelles.

Nous encourageons les Etats à rejoindre le Groupe Egmont et nous nous engageons à faciliter leur adhésion. Le Groupe Egmont constitue une enceinte globale pour les Unités d’Investigations Financières visant à améliorer la coopération dans la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent.

Nous nous engageons à renforcer notre soutien aux initiatives visant les avoirs criminels qui bénéficient des systèmes bancaires des paradis fiscaux.

Nous nous engageons à doter les services compétents de l’expertise requise et des outils adéquats pour mener efficacement les enquêtes financières afin de démanteler des réseaux transnationaux, de lutter plus efficacement contre le blanchiment d’argent, d’identifier les réseaux de corruption et les avoirs criminels.

Nous nous engageons à renforcer la coopération avec les organisations internationales compétentes dans ce domaine parmi lesquelles la Banque Mondiale, l’ONUDC, Interpol, l’OMD et le GAFI.

Les méthodes qu’il convient de privilégier pour garantir la confiscation effective des avoirs criminels pourront être examinées dans les enceintes pertinentes comme le Symposium transatlantique sur le démantèlement des réseaux illicites transnationaux que l’Union européenne et les États-Unis organiseront à Lisbonne ou au sein d’autres mécanismes régionaux ou bi-régionaux.

[retour en haut]

V – Traiter les effets déstabilisateurs à long terme du trafic de drogue

La lutte contre le trafic de drogue, en particulier celui de la cocaïne, doit également prendre en compte les effets à long terme, qui contribuent à affaiblir l’Etat de droit et la bonne gouvernance, à menacer sérieusement la sécurité et le bien être de l’humanité, à fragiliser les institutions étatiques, en particulier les institutions de la chaîne judicaire et pénale, notamment par la corruption et la déstabilisation des économies générées par le trafic illicite de drogue.

Nous favorisons le recensement et l’échange de bonnes pratiques et de stratégies efficientes en matière de lutte contre la violence liée au trafic de drogue et d’élimination de la corruption.

Nous encourageons les organisations compétentes, notamment l’ONUDC, l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), Interpol et la Banque Mondiale, en accord avec leurs Etats-membres, à étudier les mécanismes de contamination de l’économie légale par les revenus illicites du crime.

Nous réaffirmons que la lutte contre la contamination des économies passe, avant tout, par un renforcement de l’état de droit et par la promotion d’une bonne gouvernance.

[retour en haut]

VI – Renforcer les capacités des États

La lutte contre le trafic de drogue et les engagements pris dans le présent Plan d’action impliquent un renforcement des capacités des États. Celui-ci doit s’inscrire dans le cadre des politiques globales et intégrées, destinées à lutter contre le fléau mondial qu’est la drogue. A cette fin :

Nous recommandons que les besoins de chacun des États soient mieux identifiés afin d’optimiser les interventions des bailleurs, notamment grâce une coopération permanente et soutenue sur le terrain entre les bailleurs ainsi qu’à la généralisation d’un outil de partage de l’information en matière d’assistance technique

Nous encourageons les centres régionaux de formation policière, existants et en projet, dans le domaine de la sécurité à accorder une attention spéciale aux programmes consacrés à la lutte contre le trafic de drogue.

Nous appuyons le renforcement des capacités des États tout au long de la chaîne judiciaire et pénale, de même que pour l’ensemble des services opérationnels concernés, notamment par la lutte contre le trafic illicite de drogue, le trafic d’explosifs, d’armes légères, des munitions et de lutte contre le détournement de précurseurs chimiques.

Nous nous assurons que ces politiques s’insèrent dans des dispositifs généraux de renforcement de l’état de droit, en veillant à une coordination maximale avec la société civile.

Nous promouvrons des politiques intégrées de réduction de la demande et de l’offre, qui prévoient la réduction des cultures illicites et la promotion des politiques de développement alternatif intégral et durable dans les pays producteurs ainsi que la mise au point de peines alternatives à la détention et le développement de la réintégration sociale. Nous soutenons l’échange de bonnes pratiques en matière de réduction de la demande, lorsque cela paraît approprié et nous encourageons les politiques de prévention, de traitement et de réinsertion des anciens consommateurs dans la société. Nous réaffirmons notre engagement à atteindre des résultats significatifs et tangibles dans le domaine de la réduction de la demande, en s’appuyant sur une approche globale et équilibrée.

Nous exhortons les Etats et les organisations engagés dans les programmes d’assistance technique, à améliorer la coordination de leurs actions, notamment en favorisant la circulation d’informations, de bonnes pratiques et retours d’expériences relatives aux programmes mis en œuvre.

Nous encourageons les États membres à renforcer leur coopération avec les organisations régionales représentées par la Communauté économique des États de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (CEDEAO), l’Union Africaine (UA) l’Organisation des Etats Américains (OEA / CICAD), CARICOM, ainsi que d’autres organisations régionales et sous-régionales concernées comme la Communauté sud-africaine du développement (SACD), et l’Union des nations sud-américaines (UNASUR) et les autorités compétentes.

[retour en haut]

VII – Financement de la lutte contre le trafic de drogue

Compte tenu de l’ampleur du défi à relever, la lutte contre le trafic de drogue, en particulier de celui de la cocaïne, qui s’insère dans les efforts visant le problème mondial de la drogue, nécessitera des financements importants. Au-delà des engagements déjà pris par les États concernés, des efforts ont été consentis, au niveau multilatéral, au niveau de l’Union européenne ainsi qu’à celui des autres bailleurs de fonds, efforts dont nous soulignons le rôle essentiel.

Nous appelons les organismes multilatéraux et régionaux de financement du développement, l’Union européenne ainsi que d’autres bailleurs importants, à poursuivre leurs initiatives de soutien aux capacités, notamment sur les aspects à long terme.

Nous encourageons les États à envisager d’utiliser, là où cela est applicable et conformément à leur législation nationale, les produits de la saisie, de la confiscation et d’autres mesures similaires d’avoirs criminels générés par le trafic de drogue, pour renforcer le plus possible la lutte contre la drogue, dans le plein respect des compétences budgétaires de chaque État.

Nous réaffirmons notre volonté de fournir un soutien financier, là où cela est applicable et conformément à la législation nationale, aux organisations multilatérales et régionales pertinentes, dont l’ONUDC, et aux initiatives régionales, qui s’efforcent d’enrayer les flux de drogues illicites.

Nous encourageons l’ONUDC à explorer, avec les institutions financières internationales pertinentes, la possibilité d’identifier des financements innovants dans la lutte contre le trafic de drogue.

Chaque mesure détaillée dans notre plan pourra être mise en œuvre sur une base volontaire par nos pays. Le champ d’action de ces mesures peut aussi être élargi à d’autres régions et à d’autres drogues illicites dès lors que le besoin s’en fait sentir et que cela semble possible, avec l’accord de tous les pays participants à cette initiative.

Nous invitons les pays de nos régions respectives à s’associer aux efforts menés dans le cadre de cette initiative. A cette fin, nous demandons à nos organisations régionales respectives d’informer tous les pays de nos régions des résultats de cette réunion.

[retour en haut]