ROBERT S. KENNY PRIZE in Marxist & Labour/Left Studies

 Picture of Robert S. Kenny To honour the memory of the late Robert S. Kenny, an annual prize has been established to recognize writing that advances the cause of labour. Canadian citizens and permanent residents of Canada writing on topics related to Marxist & labour/left studies or international scholars publishing in such areas as they related to Canada, are eligible for the award. The winner will receive $1000.00, and will be expected to deliver a public lecture at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library at the University of Toronto.

Click here to read the prize announcement >>

All inquiries regarding the prize should be directed to the Chair of the Awards Committee:

e-mail: Professor David Galbraith
Dept. of English
210 Northrop Frye Hall
Victoria College
73 Queen's Park Crescent East
Toronto, Ontario
M5S 1K7

Previous winners and their lectures to date:

2008 Recipient (ninth recipient), Andrée Lévesque

Red Travellers: Jeanne Corbin and her Comrades. (McGill-Queen's University Press) (translated by Yvonne M. Klein).
Lecture: The Weakest Link: French-Canadian Communists before 1940.

Andrée Lévesque is a specialist in social and economic history, and, more specifically, in the history of Quebec's labour movement and working class, and in the history of women. She is the author of Making and Breaking the Rules: Women in Quebec, 1919-1939. She teaches history at McGill University.

 Smaller picture of dustjacket/cover of the 2008 Recipients book, Red Travellers
view larger image

2007 Recipient (eighth recipient), Faith Johnston

A Great Restlessness: The Life and Politics of Dorise Nielsen. (University of Manitoba Press, 2006).
Lecture: The Communists, the CCF and the Popular Front

Faith Johnston is a Winnipeg-based writer and former Ottawa teacher. She has a Master's in Women's Studies from Carleton University and her work has been published in Dropped Threads 2, The New Quarterly, Prairie Fire, Other Voices, and A Room of One's Own. Her research for A Great Restlessness took her across the Canadian prairies, through archives in Toronto and Ottawa, and to Beijing during the 2003 SARS epidemic.

 Smaller picture of dustjacket/cover of the 2007 Recipients book, A Great Restlessness
view larger image

2006 Recipient (seventh recipient), Jean-Claude Parrot

My union, my life: Jean-Claude Parrot and the Canadian Union of Postal Workers. (Fernwood Publishing, 2005).
Lecture: Class Struggle in the Post Office (Text of lecture not submitted)

Jean-Claude Parrot was the National President of the Canadian Union of Postal Workers for fifteen years. He was elected Executive Vice-President of the Canadian Labour Congress in 1992, retiring from that position in 2002.

 Smaller picture of dustjacket/cover of the 2006 Recipients book, My union, my life
view larger image

2005 Recipient (sixth recipient), Ann Porter

Gendered States: Women, Unemployment Insurance and the Political Economy of the Welfare State in Canada, 1945-1997. (University of Toronto Press, 2003).
Lecture: Capitalism and Unemployment: Enduring Contradictions

Ann Porter is assistant professor in the Department of Political Science, York University, Toronto. "Through a detailed, historical account of the Unemployment Insurance program ...[the author] demonstrates how gender was central to both the construction of the post-war welfare state, as well as to its subsequent crisis and restructuring.

 Smaller picture of dustjacket/cover of the 2005 Recipients book Gendered States
view larger image

2004 Recipient (fifth recipient), John Belshaw

Colonization and community: the Vancouver Island coalfield and the making of the British Columbian working class. (McGill-Queen's University Press, c2002).
Lecture: The Miners First Steps: Radicalizing West Coast Canadian Workers

John Douglas Belshaw is associate professor in the Department of Philosophy, History, and Politics at the University College of the Cariboo, in Kamloops, BC. The text is an examination of the social, political, and demographic history of British miners and their households on Vancouver Island in the nineteenth century.

 Smaller picture of dustjacket/cover of the 2004 Recipients book Colonization and Community : The Vancouver Island Coalfield and the Making of the British Columbian Working Class
view larger image

2003 Recipient (No prize awarded)


2002 Recipient (fourth recipient), James F. Petras & Henry Veltmeyer

Globalization Unmasked: Imperialism in the 21st Century, (Fernwood (in Canada) and Zed Books (in the United States), 2001).
(Text of lecture not submitted)

James Petras is Professor of Sociology (retired), at Binghamton University, New York, and Henry Veltmeyer is a Professor of Sociology and International Studies at Saint Mary's University, Halifax. "With careful conceptual analysis and rich empirical evidence, the authors present a powerful and persuasive argument that the anodyne rhetoric of 'globalization,' 'markets,' 'democracy,' and other pleasant and apparently neutral terms, conceals realities that are far better understood within the framework of imperialism and class conflict."

 Smaller picture of dustjacket/cover of the 2002 Recipients book Globalization Unmasked: Imperialism in the 21st Century
view larger image

2001 Recipient (third recipient), Peter Campbell

Canadian Marxists and the Search for a Third Way. (McGill-Queen's University Press, 1999)
Lecture: Roads to Revolution: Canadian Marxists and the Search for Socialism, 1910-1940

Peter Campbell works as a research assistant with the Disraeli Project at Queen's University. "The triumphs and failures of four Canadian Marxists who advocated organization and education rather than armed struggle in the revolutionary overthrow of capitalism and the creation of socialism."

 Smaller picture of dustjacket/cover of the 2001 Recipients book Canadian Marxists and the Search for a Third Way
view larger image

2000 Recipient (second recipient), David Frank

J.B. McLachlan: A Biography. (James Lorimer, 1999)
Lecture: Cape Breton Red: J.B. McLachlan and Canadian Labour Radicalism

David Frank is a Professor of History at the University of New Brunswick. In this biography he gives an account of legendary labour leader James Bryson McLachlan, champion of the Cape Breton Coal Miners in the early decades of the twentieth century

 Smaller picture of dustjacket/cover of the 2000 Recipients book J.B. McLachlan: A Biography
view larger image

1999 Recipient (first recipient), Larry Hannant

The Politics of Passion: Norman Bethune's Writing and Art. (University of Toronto Press, 1998)
Lecture: Norman Bethune: Past and Future

Larry Hannant is an Adjunct Associate Professor at the University of Victoria and Instructor in History at Camosun College, Victoria. The text presents a collection of writings and artwork by Bethune, to "reintroduce us to the man himself," through his own words and artistic expressions.

 Smaller picture of dustjacket/cover of the 1999 Recipients book The Politics of Passion : Norman Bethune's Writing and Art
view larger image

About the Library | Collections | Digital Collections | Exhibitions | Publications | Kenny Prize | Fisher Home

Site Map | FAQ | Ask a Librarian | Search | Virtual Tour | Images from the Collection | Send a Postcard

University of Toronto Library Homepage | University of Toronto Homepage

This page was last updated April 16, 2009. Your comments and questions are welcomed.
All contents copyright ©, University of Toronto Libraries, 2004.

 *  Fisher Home  Site Map  FAQ  Ask a Librarian  Virtual Tour  Images from the Collection  Send a Postcard